Paying Your Bill Online
Pay online at my.fsu.edu, by Visa, American Express, Discover, MasterCard, and electronic check. If you have difficulty accessing this service you may wish to contact the ITS Service Desk at 850-644-HELP (4357).
Though our system is capable of processing more transactions per minute than the highest anticipated customer demand, we do not recommend that you wait until the tuition payment deadline to attempt to make your payment. We have other payment options available.
Paying via On-Campus Drop Box
Our secure payment drop box is located outside our office at A1500 University Center. It is available for check payments 24 hours a day, 365 days a year including holidays and weekends. All payments will be receipted by the next business day.
Please make the check payable to Florida State University and include your student number, name, address and telephone number on your check. Checks must be made out correctly to be considered on time.
Visit Our Cashier's Office
Our friendly cashiers are available at A1500 University Center, Student Business Services from 8:30am to 4:30pm, Monday through Friday. Cashiers only accept payments by Suntrust linked FSUCard, cash, personal checks, money orders and cashiers checks.
Note: All other credit card payments including but not limited to Visa, American Express, Discover, and MasterCard are only accepted online.
Paying by Mail
Payments by check may be addressed to Student Business Services; A1500 University Center; Tallahassee, FL 32306-2394. Please make the check payable to Florida State University and include your student number, name, address and telephone number on your check. Checks must be made out correctly to be considered on time.
Tuition payment must be received by the tuition payment deadline or you will receive late fees and be dropped from class. See late or non-payment section for more info.
Payment via Installment Contract
Students incurring tuition fees greater than $150.00 are eligible to execute an installment contract for the Fall and Spring semesters only. The initial payment must be one half of the total tuition owed and is due by the tuition payment deadline. A $10.00 service fee will be assessed on the initial transaction.
Once an installment contract is executed, any course added at a later date must be paid in full within five (5) calendar days--it will not be covered under the previously executed contract.
Failure to pay tuition in full for such a course will result in the assessment of a late payment fee. Failure to pay the second installment by the due date will result in the assessment of a late payment fee. The online installment contract is now available by calling our office at 850-644-9452.
Accessing your My Account Statement
Visit your "Account Statement" at my.fsu.edu any time! Your Account Statement provides detailed information on past payments, third-party or financial aid based payments, and current debts.
It is important to check your account statement often, especially at the beginning and end of each semester, to avoid late payment fees and financial holds. Track your account activity and double-check that you do not have any holds prior to class registration.
Financial holds from library fines, parking citations, or even from individual academic departments, etc., can prevent students from checking out books at the library, entering the campus gym, registering for classes, and receiving your official transcripts and diploma.
What credit cards does FSU accept?
FSU accepts Visa, MasterCard, American Express, and Discover for online payments. Credit card payments cannot be made over the phone or in person. This is a security measure to ensure confidentiality of your payment information.
Why is FSU charging a 2% service fee for online credit card payments?
FSU is committed to providing students a range of options for paying their educational expenses. The acceptance of credit cards is prohibitively expensive due to the interchange fees assessed by the various credit card companies. The University pays over $1.5M per year in credit card processing fees. The 2% service fee is used to offset this cost.
Is there any way I can avoid paying a service fee for paying online?
You can avoid paying the 2% service fee by paying online with an e-check. An e-check is an electronic withdrawal from either a savings or checking account at any US bank or credit union. You will need your bank’s 9-digit routing number and your account number. Checks issued from money market accounts, credit card companies, mutual funds, brokerage accounts, home equity loans, or other lines of credit cannot be processed as an e-check. Please verify with your bank if you are unsure of whether or not your check can be used or what routing and account numbers to enter.
Is the service fee refundable?
The 2% service fee is non-refundable, even if the payment to which it relates to is cancelled, refunded, credited or charged back.
How will the service fee appear on my student account statement?
The service fee charge and payment will show separately on your student account statement.
How will the service fee appear on my credit card statement?
Two separate transactions will appear on your credit card statement. One transaction for the student account payment and one transaction for the service fee. The transaction for the student account payment will appear as “Payment-Web” and the transaction for the service fee will appear as “Payment-Web Service Fee”.
Paper/Physical Checks and E-Checks
Any physical check or e-check returned to The Florida State University is assessed a service charge of $25.00, or 5% of the amount of the check, whichever is greater. Payment of the returned check and service charge must be made with cash, cashier’s check, money order, or credit card online.
The Florida State University automatically submits all paper/physical checks twice for payment if the check was returned once for any reason. This is an automated process and the second submission cannot be stopped; however, there is no charge assessed by The Florida State University for this second submission. E-checks are only submitted once. Your bank may charge one or more fees for having a returned item on your account, and this is independent of any service fees assessed by The Florida State University.
Personal checks may not be used for repayment of a returned check item; only certified funds are accepted. After the returned item and service charge are paid in full, personal checks will not be accepted on the account for an additional 90 days. After the 90 day probation period ends, personal checks may be written again.
However, if a second check is returned to the University, the personal check hold will remain indefinitely. No personal checks will be accepted from anyone on the account for any University services.
Please note that if an e-check is returned for an input error, no service fee is assessed, and there is no stop on submitting personal checks. However, if a student continually submits e-checks that are returned for an input error, The Florida State University reserves the right to place the student on temporary or permanent check probation, as outlined above.
If the returned item is for tuition, the student may be assessed a $100 late payment fee if redemption is not made before the tuition payment deadline. In addition, the student’s course schedule may be canceled for non-payment in accordance with University's General Bulletin.
Notification of the returned item will be mailed to the student’s most current address. Under Florida Law, redemption of the returned item and any applicable service charge must be made with fifteen (15) days. Returned checks are submitted to the State Attorney’s Office for criminal prosecution after collection efforts are exhausted.
Online FSUCard payments returned to The Florida State University for insufficient funds (NSF), stop payment, or account closed, will be assessed a service fee of $25.00, or 5% of the amount of the transaction, whichever is greater. Payment of the returned item may not be made using FSUCard online, but FSUCard in-person will be accepted. No other payment type restrictions are added to the student’s account.
Online FSUCard payments returned to The Florida State University for an input error are not assessed a service fee, and no payment type restrictions are added to the student’s account.
However, if a student continually submits online FSUCard payments that are returned for an input error, The Florida State University reserves the right to revoke the ability to use FSUCard payment option online, either temporarily or permanently.
After redemption of a returned FSUCard item, any FSUCard payment restrictions will be removed. If a second FSUCard item is returned within the same academic semester, the student will not be able to use online FSUCard payment option for the rest of the semester.
However, if a student continually submits online FSUCard payments that are returned, The Florida State University reserves the right to remove the online FSUCard payment option permanently.
If the payment was for tuition, the student may be assessed a $100 late payment fee if redemption is not made before the tuition payment deadline. In addition, the student’s course schedule may be canceled for non-payment in accordance with University's General Bulletin.
Notification of the returned FSUCard item will be mailed to the student’s most current address. Under Florida Law, redemption of the returned item and any applicable service charge must be made with fifteen (15) days.
Returned Payment Reasons
- Insufficient Funds:
- The available and/or cash reserve balance is not sufficient to cover the dollar value or the debit entry.
- Account Closed:
- A previously active account has been closed by action of the customer or the receiving depository financial institution (RDFI).
- No Account / Unable to Locate Account:
- The account number structure is valid and passes the check digit validation, but the account number does not correspond to the individual identified in the entry, or the account number designated is not an open account.
- Invalid Account Number:
- The account number structure is not valid, the entry may fail the check digit validation, or it may contain an incorrect number of digits.
- Routing Number / Check Digit Error:
- The routing number of the receiver's financial institution is incorrect.
- For checking accounts, you must use the routing number from an actual check and not a deposit slip from a checking account. Also, you cannot use credit card "convenience checks", equity line-of-credit checks or investment account checks through UM Pay, the University's online payment processing vendor.
- For savings accounts, contact your bank for the accurate routing and account number for ACH/EFT withdrawals.
- Payment Stopped or Stop Payment:
- The Receiver of a recurring debit transaction has the right to stop payment on any specific ACH debit. A stop payment order shall remain in effect until the earliest of the following occurs: a lapse of six months from the date of the stop payment order, payment of the debit entry has been stopped, or the Receiver withdraws the stop payment order.
- Non-Transaction Account:
- The ACH entry destined for a non-transaction account would include (1) an account against which transactions are prohibited or limited (e.g., Regulation D); or, (2) a pass-through where entry is for a credit union or thrift organization, and
- Regulation E descriptive requirements cannot be met.
- RDFI Not Qualified to Participate:
- Bank is not a member of the NACHA-National Automated Clearinghouse Association network.
Late or Non-Payment
Drop Policy for Unpaid Tuition
As published in the general bulletin, in accordance with Florida State University Regulation 6C2R-2.0248, students who do not pay tuition and fees or make arrangements for tuition and fee payment by the published deadline each semester may have their schedules cancelled.
Students will be notified by email to their FSU e-mail account concerning outstanding tuition delinquencies and given an opportunity to pay tuition and fees or make arrangements for tuition and fee payment with the Office of Student Business Services prior to cancellation.
Students whose schedules are cancelled for non-payment of tuition and fees will have their academic progress discontinued for the term in question and will not be able to attend class or receive grades.
Students whose schedules are cancelled for non-payment of tuition and fees may appeal to the University Registrar for reinstatement and continuation of academic progress for the term. A written appeal must be submitted to the University Registrar by the end of the 7th week of the Fall and Spring semesters (consult the Registration Guide for Summer term deadlines).
Prior to a student's appeal being approved, the Office of Student Business Services must verify that payment for the current term has been received or that appropriate arrangements have been made for tuition and fee payment. Students whose schedules are reinstated are subject to a $100.00 late registration fee and a $100.00 late payment fee.
Check or credit card payments that are returned or refused will negate any tuition payment agreement for the reinstatement of a student's schedule.
The University reserves the right to deny reinstatement when a demonstrated pattern of tuition delinquencies over two or more semesters has occurred.
The form to appeal cancellation of schedules due to non-payment of tuition and fees is available in our forms section here.
A student becomes liable for his/her tuition upon registration. Tuition payments received after the published deadline are considered late and will be assessed a $100.00 late payment fee. Students have the right to appeal this fee through the Late Payment Appeal Form.
Late Payment Fee
As listed on the appeal form, the only reasons for waiving the late payment fee include: documented University error, documented administrative error, or documented extraordinary circumstances such as severe illness, a death in the family or natural disaster.
Note: Supporting documentation is required and tuition must be paid before submitting a request to waive late payment fees.
The late payment fee may not be waived due to: lack of funds, unawareness of deadlines, unawareness of acceptable payment types, or Internet connectivity issues.
If the request is denied, the student may appeal to the Late Payment Fee Appeals Committee by contacting the Office of Student Business Services at (850) 644-9452.
The Late Payment Fee Appeals Committee, which consists of representatives from the Office of the University Registrar, Office of Financial Aid, and the Office of Student Business Services, provides an opportunity for students to appeal a denial of their request for a late payment waiver.
The Appeals Committee's decision is the final step in the University's late payment appeal process.
The Graduate Tuition Payment Plan
For graduate assistants, teaching assistants, and research assistants employed by the University. Under this plan, students authorize FSU to deduct the cost of their tuition and FSUCard charges from their bi-weekly paychecks in equal installments over the Fall and Spring terms. Summer Sessions work a little differently. The rules and stipulations of each term are unique and interested students must complete new paperwork to participate each term. Open the Payment Plan contract below to read the most recent terms and conditions, and to enroll in the program. If you have any questions about the plan please email StudentBusiness@fsu.edu.
The Traditional Installment Plan
The best option for students who are not employed by the University. Students incurring tuition and fees greater than $150.00 are eligible to enroll in an installment contract for the Fall and Spring semesters only. The initial payment must be one half of the total tuition owed and is due by the tuition payment deadline. A $10.00 service fee will be assessed at the payment of the second installment.
Once a student has enrolled in an installment contract, any course added at a later date must be paid in full within five (5) calendar days—it will not be covered under the previously agreed upon contract.
To enroll in the Traditional Installment Plan, pay half of your total tuition online by the tuition due date and email our office stating that you would like to enroll in the plan. We will respond with confirmation of enrollment and the remainder of your tuition plus the $10.00 service fee will be due according to the posted date on your MyFSU account statement.