Skip to main content

Student Business

Tuition & Fees

 

Tuition & Fees-

Main Campus

Undergraduate

In State

$215.55

Per Credit

Out-of-State

$721.10

Per Credit

Graduate

In State

$479.32

Per Credit

Out-of-State

$1,110.72

Per Credit

For full Main Campus Tuition Rates and Fee Definitions, please see attached Tuition Rates documentation here:

2016-2017 Main Campus Tuition Rates

Tuition & Fees-

College of Law

Law

In State

$688.11

Per Credit

Out-of-State

$1,355.18

Per Credit

For full College of Law Tuition Rates and Fee Definitions, please see attached Tuition Rates documentation here:

2016-2017 Law Tuition Rates

Tuition & Fees-

College of Medicine

Block 1

In State

$8,536.86

Out-of-State

$20,053.93

Block 2

In State

$12,805.30

Out-of-State

$30,080.90

Block 3

In State

$8,492.86

Out-of-State

$19,987.93

Block 4

In State

$8,492.86

Out-of-State

$19,987.93

All Blocks

(less than six credit hours)

In State

$479.32

Out-of-State

$1,110.72

For full College of Medicine Tuition Rates and Fee Definitions, please see attached Tuition Rates documentation here:

2016-2017 Medicine Tuition Rates

Tuition & Fees-

Panama City Campus

Undergraduate

In State

$180.49

Per Credit

Out-of-State

$686.04

Per Credit

Graduate

In State

$444.26

Per Credit

Out-of-State

$1,075.66

Per Credit

For full Panama City Campus Tuition Rates and Fee Definitions, please see attached Tuition Rates documentation here:

2016-2017 Panama City Tuition Rates

Tuition & Fees-

Sarasota Campus

Undergraduate

In State

$182.30

Per Credit

Out-of-State

$687.85

Per Credit

Graduate

In State

$446.07

Per Credit

Out-of-State

$1,077.47

Per Credit

For full Sarasota Campus Tuition Rates and Fee Definitions, please see attached Tuition Rates documentation here:

2016-2017 Sarasota Campus Tuition Rates

Waivers

 

Undergraduate Students: $105.07Per Credit

Graduate Students: $403.51Per Credit

The Matriculation Waiver is awarded by academic departments for a specified number of credit hours, generally as part of a graduate assistantship offer. This waiver only waives the matriculation fee. It is the students responsibility to pay additional campus fees.

If you have any questions regarding the Matriculation Waiver, please contact your academic department.\

 

More Information: Graduate School

 

Undergraduate Students: $481.48Per Credit

Graduate Students: $601.34Per Credit

The Out-of-State Waiver is awarded by academic departments for a specified number of credit hours, generally as part of a graduate assistantship offer. This waiver waives the out-of-state fee. It is the student’s responsibility to pay additional tuition and campus fees assessed.

University policy limits this waiver to the first academic year of an assistantship and students on assistantship are required to complete appropriate steps during the first semester at FSU to gain in-state residency and avoid the out-of-state fee for future terms.

If you have any questions regarding the Out-of-State Waiver, or the process to gain in-state residency, please contact your academic department.

 

More Information: Graduate School

 

Undergraduate Students: $505.55Per Credit

Graduate Students: $631.40Per Credit

The Linkage Institute Waiver is an award offered to International students by various Florida public Universities, which can be used throughout the State University System of Florida. This waiver covers the Out-of-State fee and the Out-of-State Financial Aid fee up to a specified number of credit hours

The Florida Legislature has established 11 International Linkage Institutes as defined in the Florida Statutes 288.8175. According to statute 1009.21, students who qualify will be eligible for non-resident tuition fee waivers. The Institutes are:

  • Florida - Brazil Institute
  • Florida - Canada Institute
  • Florida - Caribbean Institute
  • Florida - China Institute
  • Florida - Costa Rica Institute
  • Florida - Eastern Europe Institute
  • Florida - France Institute
  • Florida - Israel Institute
  • Florida - Japan Institute
  • Florida - Mexico Institute
  • Florida - West Africa Institute

The Linkage Institue notifies the students that they are certified to receive an out-of-state exemption/ waiver. The number of credits waived is determined by the awarding school and will be listed on your award letter. The student must submit the award letter, and pay any remaining fees to Student Business Services prior to the Fee Payment Deadline each semester.

See the Academic Calendar for the current Fee Payment Deadline. The letter is very specific and it will state the terms, program of study and the number of hours that the award covers. Submit letters by fax, or as a scanned attachment in an e-mail (preferred method) to StudentBusiness@fsu.edu

 

 

More Information: Center for Global Engagement

 

Undergraduate Students: $105.07Per Credit

Graduate Students: $403.51Per Credit

As defined in the FL Statutes, Title XLVIII, K-20 Education Code, Chapter 1009 Educational Scholarships, Fees, and Financial Assistance, 1009.26(2) Fee Waivers, persons who supervise student intern for a state university, are eligible to receive a Certificate of Participation/Intern Participation Certificate. This certificate entitles the holder to exempt the Tuition Fee portion of the hourly rate for up to six (6) hours during one term of instruction, at any state university. Both Graduate and Undergraduate courses may be covered. The holder will be responsible to pay all other current fees by the fee payment deadline. The COP recipient must use their COP by or before the expiration date that is on the form.

The COP requires three signatures: the Program Administrator's Signature, the Academic Dean's (or designee's) signature and the Recipient's (holder's) signature. Certificates missing any one of the signatures are unacceptable. Expired Certificates are not accepted.

The recipient should submit the COP to Student Business Services on or prior to the Fee Payment Deadline of any given term and pay any remaining fees by the Fee Payment Deadline to avoid a late payment fee. See the Academic Calendar for the Fee Payment Deadline. Submitted COPs are for use one term at a time and cannot be used again. This means that the COP cannot be split between terms, i.e., 3 hours in the Fall term and 3 hours in the next term.

Submit the original COP by mail only. Faxed copies are not accepted

Mail the COP to:
FSU Student Business Services
Attn: Waivers Coordinator
A1500 University Center
P.O. Box 3062394
Tallahassee, FL 32306-2394

 

More Information: Tuition Rates

 

100% Undergraduate Students: $481.48Per Credit

50% Undergraduate Students: $240.74Per Credit

Accepted out-of-state freshmen will be automatically considered for Out-of-State Waiver/ Scholarships by the Office of Admissions. A separate application is not required. Waivers/ Scholarships are competitive and awarded based on academic merit (combination of academic weighted grade point average and test scores). Two types of scholarships are available; the Full (100%) Out-of-State Tuition Reduction Scholarship, and the Partial (50%) Out-of-State Tuition Reduction Scholarship.

These scholarships waive the Out-of-State fee. They do not waive the Out-of-State Financial Aid fee, nor does it apply toward study-abroad programs. It is the student’s responsibility to pay additional tuition and campus fees assessed.

 

More Information: Office of Admissions

 

Full-time FSU employees who meet academic requirements are entitled to a waiver of tuition and fees as defined in the FL Statutes, Title XLVIII, K-20 Education Code, Chapter 1009 Educational Scholarships, Fees, and Financial Assistance, 1009.26(3) Fee Waivers. Eligible employees may be allowed to enroll for up to six (6) credit hours of eligible instruction per Fall, Spring and/or Summer terms without payment of tuition and fees.

Full-time employees who are classified as Faculty, Administrative and Professional (A&P), and University Support Personnel System (USPS) on the date fees are due, may enroll. Adjunct instructors, employees employed as Other Personnel Services (OPS) and part-time employees are not eligible to participate.

Note:

  • The tuition waiver will not cover the additional cost for courses including, but are not limited to, online courses, non-funded market-rate courses, courses with equipment fees and material and supply fees, and repeated courses.
  • The tuition waiver will not cover activity courses (PE courses), dissertation, thesis, internship credits, or any other one-on-one classes.
  • If a course is dropped after drop/add, the scholarship will be removed, and the student/ employee is responsible to pay for the withdrawn course.
  • For complete program rules see the scholarship application materials below linked below

 

Any FSU employee who uses an Employee Tuition Waiver for approved courses must submit a completed and signed Tuition Waiver Form to Student Business Services by each terms Fee Payment Deadline. See the Academic Calendar for each terms Fee Payment Deadlines. Prior to enrolling into courses each term, refer to the Human Resource Website for eligibility requirements, course restrictions, and the waiver application form. Submit completed waiver forms in person, by fax, or as a scanned attachment in an e-mail (preferred method) to StudentBusiness@fsu.edu.

 

More Information: Office of Human Resources

 

Full-time state employees who meet academic requirements are entitled to a waiver of tuition and fees as defined in the FL Statutes, Title XLVIII, K-20 Education Code, Chapter 1009 Educational Scholarships, Fees, and Financial Assistance, 1009.265(1-5) Fee Waivers. State employees are any individuals who work in any of the State of Florida agencies (i.e. Department of Corrections, Department of Children and Families, Department of Transportation etc.).

State University employees as well as educators of the different counties of the state are not state employees. Eligible employees may be allowed to enroll for up to six (6) credit hours of eligible instruction per Fall, Spring and/or Summer terms without payment of tuition and most fees.

Note:

  • State Employees should register during their normal registration window and email the completed waiver form to CTL-StateEmployee@fsu.edu.
  • This tuition waiver will not cover the transportation access fee, the $5 FSU Card Fee, and the additional cost for courses including, but not limited to
    • online courses
    • non-funded market-rate courses
    • courses with equipment fees
    • courses with material and supply fees
    • repeated courses

 

To view a complete set of instructions, employees may obtain a copy of the State Employee Tuition Waiver Form and instructions from the Registrar's Office website. Students are encouraged to list alternate courses on the waiver form to substitue for preferred courses that are closed. Student Business Services will not waive courses not listed on the waiver form.

Florida State University does not accept State Employee Waivers for the following:

  • Graduate courses in the Colleges of Law and Medicine
  • Undergraduate limited access programs
  • Dissertation, thesis, directed individual study (DIS), internship or other one-on-one courses
  • Audited courses
  • Center for Academic and Professional Development
  • All non-state funded courses or sections (including some distance learning courses that are funded solely by student tuition and fees)

 

More Information: Registrar's Office

Application Form

 

This waiver applies to students who lack a fixed, regular, and adequate nighttime residence, or whose primary nighttime residence is a public or private shelter designed to provide temporary residence for individuals intended to be institutionalized, or a public or private place not designed for, or ordinarily used as, a regular sleeping accommodation for human beings are eligible for education tuition and fee exemptions as defined in the Florida Statutes, Title XLVIII, K-20 Education Code, Chapter 1009 Educational Scholarships, Fees, and Financial Assistance, 1009.25(1)(f).

The Homeless Waiver waives all tuition and class fees, except the $5 FSU Card fee.

Eligible students must submit the Waiver Application and Homeless Affidavit which can be found on the Student Business Services Forms page, and provide supporting documentation (e.g. documentation from a federal/state agency, the McKinney-Vento Homeless Act Letter, a letter from a Homeless Shelter, a Case Manager, etc.). See the Academic Calendar for each terms Fee Payment Deadlines. Submit letters by fax, or as a scanned attachement in an e-mail (preferred method) to StudentBusiness@fsu.edu.

Note: You must re-apply for this waiver each semester.

 

Contact Us:

Student Business
1500A University Center,
Tallahassee, FL 32306
Email IconStudentBusiness@fsu.edu
Phone Icon (850) 644.9452
Fax Icon (850) 644.5142

 

Students whose adoption from the Florida Department of Children and Families (DCF) was after May 5, 1997, and students who were in the Foster Care system from the Florida Department of Children and Families (DCF) are eligible for education tuition and fee exemptions as defined in the Florida Statutes, Title XLVIII, K-20 Education Code, Chapter 1009 Educational Scholarships, Fees, and Financial Assistance, 1009.25(1) (c-d) Fee exemptions. The caseworker for these students will provide a letter with DCF letterhead specifying eligibility in the program. If currently awarded, a student will be eligible without restrictions to complete an undergraduate program until the term in which the student reaches age 28. Students with letters drawn based on the statutes prior to July 1, 2010 will have four (4) year eligibility after high school graduation to use this benefit.

The Independent Living Waiver waives all tuition and class fees, except the $5 FSU Card fee

Students must submit their certification of eligibility letter from DCF and a Waiver Application prior to the fee payment deadline to Student Business Services. Waivers can be located on the Student Business Services Forms page. See the Academic Calendar for each terms Fee Payment Deadlines. Submit letters by fax, or as a scanned attachement in an e-mail (preferred method) to StudentBusiness@fsu.edu.

Note: You must submit documentation for this waiver each semester.

 

Contact Us:

Student Business
1500A University Center,
Tallahassee, FL 32306
Email IconStudentBusiness@fsu.edu
Phone Icon (850) 644.9452
Fax Icon (850) 644.5142

 

There are three types of Special Risk Waivers:

  • Dependents of Law Enforcement Officers
  • Dependents of Firefighters
  • Dependents of Teachers or School Administrators

 

These waivers are referred to as the Line of Duty Tuition Waiver. This waiver covers all tuition and class fees, except the $5 FSU Card fee, for a maximum of 120 credit hours of an undergraduate education or a postgraduate education.

  • Dependents of Law Enforcement Officers killed in the line of duty are eligible for education tuition and fee exemptions as defined in the Florida Statutes, Title X, Chapter 112, 112.19(3). This waiver covers an amount equal to the cost of tuition and matriculation and registration fees for a maximum of 120 credit hours of an undergraduate education or a postgraduate education. The benefits provided to a child under this section shall continue until the child's 25th birthday. The benefits provided to a spouse under this subsection must commence within 5 years after the death occurs, and entitlement thereto shall continue until the 10th anniversary of that death.
  • Dependents of Firefighters killed in the line of duty are eligible for education tuition and fee exemptions as defined in the Florida Statutes, Title X, Chapter 112, 112.191(3). This waiver covers an amount equal to the cost of tuition and matriculation for a maximum of 120 credit hours of an undergraduate education or a postgraduate education. The benefits provided to a child under this section shall continue until the child's 25th birthday. The benefits provided to a spouse under this subsection must commence within 5 years after the death occurs, and entitlement thereto shall continue until the 10th anniversary of that death.

 

Eligible students should submit the Waiver Application on the Student Business Services Forms page and provide the death certificate of the deceased, showing that he/she was killed in the line of duty. Supporting documentation, such as a Letter of Verification on letterhead from a superior officer, or Human Resources Department of the deceased officer's employ, may also be asked for. The verification letter should include all pertinent information as it relates to the statutes as well as student name, date of birth, etc.

The student must submit the verification letter to Student Business Services prior to the Fee Payment Deadline of the first term at FSU. Submit letters by fax, or as a scanned attachement in an e-mail (preferred method) to StudentBusiness@fsu.edu. See the Academic Calendar for each terms Fee Payment Deadlines.

 

Contact Us:

Student Business
1500A University Center,
Tallahassee, FL 32306
Email IconStudentBusiness@fsu.edu
Phone Icon (850) 644.9452
Fax Icon (850) 644.5142

 

Students who have been wrongfully incarcerated are eligible for education tuition and fee exemptions as defined in the Florida Stututes, Title XL VII, Criminal Procedure and Corrections, Chapter 961 Victims of Wrongful Incarceration Compensation, 961.06(1) (b). The Wrongful Incarceration Waiver waives up to 120 credit hours of all tuition and class fees, except the $5 FSU Card Fee.

Eligible students should fill out the Waiver Application on the Student Business Services Forms page prior to the Fee Payment Deadline of their first term at FSU. Submit letters by fax, or as a scanned attachement in an e-mail (preferred method) to StudentBusiness@fsu.edu. See the Academic Calendar for each terms Fee Payment Deadlines.

 

Contact Us:

Student Business
1500A University Center,
Tallahassee, FL 32306
Email IconStudentBusiness@fsu.edu
Phone Icon (850) 644.9452
Fax Icon (850) 644.5142

 

Persons 60 years of age or older who meet Florida Residency Requirements may register only to audit classes without payment of tuition and application fees as defined in the FL Statutes, Title XL VIII, K-20 Education Code, Chapter 1009 Educational Sholarships, Fees, and Financial Assistance, 1009.26(4) Fee Waivers. Registration is on a space-available basis and occurs on the last day of regular registration, at the time specified on the Academic Calendar for each term. See the Academic Calendar for Registration and Fee Payment Deadlines.

The Registrar's Office personnel are responsible for verifying senior citizen status, residency, and eligibility for enrollment in the requested courses as well as enrolling senior citizens in the classes. The Registrar's Office then delivers the Senior Citizen Audit Registration Forms to Student Business Services for waiver processing by the Fee Payment Deadline each term. Contact the Registrar's Office for information regarding eligibility and/ or what form to submit.

 

More Information: Registrar's Office

 

Graduate students in a state-approved school psychology program of study are entitled to a waiver of tuition and fees associated with internship credit hours, as defined in the FL Statutes, Title XLVIII, K-20 Education Code, Chapter 1009 Educational Scholarships, Fees, and Financial Assistance, 1009.26(5) Fee Waivers.

The School Psychology Program Coordinator will inform Student Business Services of each terms recipients. Recipients of this waiver will have all tuition and fees waived if the internship is the only course registered. Students must pay tuition and fees for all other registered courses by the Fee Payment Deadline. See the Academic Calendar for each terms Fee Payment Deadlines.

 

More Information: Department of Psychology

 

Florida State University and Florida Agricultural and Mechanical University are participants in a cooperative program that permits students enrolled at either institution to take a limited load at the other institution as follows:

  • Permission is granted by the academic advisor and dean of the students home university and by the chairperson of the department in which the course is to be taken at the host university
  • No more than half of the credit hours taken by a student during a given term may be taken at FAMU
  • Courses taken at FAMU should be those not offered at FSU
  • Student credit hours generated by students taking courses at FSU are treated the same as credits taken at FAMU
  • All fees are paid at the students home instituion. Students will not be required to pay additional registration fees for courses taken at the visiting instituion, and will receive a waiver of fees

Prospective students will need to contact the Registrar's Office.

 

More Information: Registrar's Office

 

The "Reciprocal Student Exchange" is a program in which degree-seeking students from FSU attend a foreign partner university in exchange for students from the partner university attending FSU.

Participants must stay registered at their university of origin (home institution). An official agreement between FSU and an institution abroad establishes the reciprocal exchanges. Prospective students need to contact the Center for Global Engagement.

 

More Information: Center for Global Engagement

 

Effective Fall 2014 a out-of-state tuition waiver for specific Florida High School Graduates was implemented. This waiver is called the Non-Resident Tuition Waiver and waives all out-of-state fees.

Students who are undocumented for federal immigration purposes and who have attended a secondary school in Florida for three (3) consecutive years immediately before graduating from a high school in this state; have applied for enrollment in an institution of higher education within 24 months after high school graduation; and submit an official Florida high school transcript as evidence of attendance and graduation are eligible for an out-of-state fee waiver, as defined in the Florida Statutes, Title XLVIII, K-20 Education Code, Chapter 1009, 1009.26-(12)(a) Fee Waivers. The waiver is applicable for 110 percent of the required credit hours of the degree or certificate program for which the student is enrolled.

Eligible students need to contact the Admission’s Office.

 

More Information: Office of Admissions

 

The First Year Abroad program allows students to complete the first twelve months of their Florida State University careers while studying abroad with International Programs. Students who do so are eligible for an out-of-state tuition waiver for their remaining time at FSU.

Prospective students need to contact International Programs.

 

More Information: International Programs

 

Students in a public high school in an accelerated program of study are allowed to register for post-secondary courses to complete high school credits and are eligible for education tuition and fee exemptions as defined in the Florida Statutes, Title XLVIII, K-20 Education Code, Chapter 1009 Educational Scholarships, Fees, and Financial Assistance, 1009.25(1) (a) Fee exemptions. High school guidance offices can provide more information to eligible students.

Prospective students need to contact the Academic Center for Excellence.

 

More Information: Academic Center for Excellence

 

Students who are honorably discharged veterans and physically reside in the state while enrolled as defined in the Florida Statutes, Title XLVIII, K-20 Education Code, Chapter 1009 Educational Scholarships, Fees, and Financial Assistance, 1009.26(13) (a) Fee waivers, are eligible for a waiver of out-of-state fees.

Eligible students need to contact the Student Veterans Center.

 

More Information: Student Veterans Center

 

All military personnel who were and still are Florida residents when awarded a Purple Heart or another combat decoration superior in precedence, as defined in the FL Statutes, Title XLVIII, K-20 Education Code, Chapter 1009 Educational Scholarships, Fees, and Financial Assistance, 1009.26(8) Fee Waivers, are eligible for a waiver of undergraduate tuition and fees.

In order to use this benefit, the student must submit the DD-214 form issued at the time of separation from service as documentation that the student has received a Purple Heart or another combat decoration superior in precedence to Student Business Services, and complete a Waiver Application. This waiver can be found on the Student Business Services Forms page, on or prior to the Fee Payment Deadline. See the Academic Calendar for each terms Fee Payment Deadlines.

 

Contact Us:

Student Business
1500A University Center,
Tallahassee, FL 32306
Email IconStudentBusiness@fsu.edu
Phone Icon (850) 644.9452
Fax Icon (850) 644.5142

 

Students who are employed as child protection and child welfare personnel as defined in the Florida Statutes, Title XXIX, Public Health, Chapter 402 Health and Human Services: Miscellaneous Provisions, 402.403 Child Protection and Child Welfare Personnel Tuition Exemption Program, are eligible for a tuition and fee exemption for up to six (6) hours of courses per term.

Eligible employees shall have an approved Department of Children and Families, community-based agency or a subcontractor waiver form stating that the necessary employment qualifications have been met.

Eligible students need to contact the College of Social Work.

 

More Information: College of Social work

 

Other Fees

Repeat Course Fee

Section 1009.285, Florida Statutes, mandates that each student attempting the same non-repeatable undergraduate course more than twice shall be assessed an additional per credit hour surcharge beginning with the third attempt. Attempted hours include those hours dropped or withdrawn which are fee liable. Undergraduate level courses are numbered 1000 to 4000.

The Repeat Course Fee is subject to change annually based upon calculations by the Florida Board of Governors. The current rate for the 2015-2016 academic year is $177.94 per credit hour.

 

Excess Credit Hour Fee

Section 1009.286, Florida Statutes, mandates that each student shall be assessed an additional per credit hour charge for each hour in excess of the total number of credit hours required to complete the baccalaureate degree. This law is in effect for students who began college at any institution during the Fall 2009 semester or later.

For more information, visit http://registrar.fsu.edu/excess_hours/

 

Material and Supply Fees

Section 1009.24(14)(i), Florida Statutes authorizes the university Boards of Trustees to establish materials and supplies fees to offset the cost of materials or supplies that are consumed in the course of the student's instructional activities. Material and Supply fees (also called Lab Fees) are assessed on a class by class basis and the amounts vary from class to class.

Contact your department for inquiries about whether a class is charged a material and supply fee or if you have questions about a specific material and supply fee.

 

Equipment Fees

Section 1009.24(14)(p), Florida Statutes authorizes the university Boards of Trustees to establish fees relating to the use, late return, and loss and damage of facilities and equipment. Equipment fees are typically assessed by major, and they are charged at a flat rate, not by credit hour.

Contact your department for inquiries about equipment fees in your academic program

 

Special Programs

For schedules of fees related to these programs, please contact each office directly.

International Programs

international.fsu.edu/

Phone

(850) 644-3272

E-mail

IP-Info@fsu.edu

Distance Learning (Online)

distance.fsu.edu/

Phone

(850) 644-4635

E-mail

distance@fsu.edu

Helpful Links:

Cost of Attendance

FSU Net Price Calculator